Contact Us

Department Administration

Our department's administrative offices are located in the north area of campus (see map below). 

  • Main Office: Withers 310 Campus Box 8106 Raleigh NC 27695-8106
  • Physical / Mail Address: 101 Lampe Dr. Raleigh, NC 27695
  • Phone: (919) 515-2475
  • Fax: (919) 515-6981
  • Hours: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday -Friday

Administrators

Ruth Gross, Department Head
Phone: 919-515-3343
Email: ruth_gross@ncsu.edu

Scott Despain, Associate Department Head
Phone: 919-513-1482
Email: despain@ncsu.edu

Susan Navey-Davis, Assistant Head for Student Affairs
Phone: 919-515-9288 
Email: navey@ncsu.edu

A. Carolyn Wright, Assistant Head for Scheduling
Phone: 919-515-9287
Email: carolyn_wright@ncsu.edu

Jillian Haeseler, Director of English as a Second Language
Phone: 919-515-9299 
Email: jshaesel@ncsu.edu

Jim Michnowicz, Director of Graduate Programs
Phone: 919-513-9999
Email: michnowicz@ncsu.edu

Section Coordinators

Vladimir Bilenkin, Russian Studies
Email: vlad_bilenkin@ncsu.edu

Hannah Bollinger, Foreign Language Education
Email: hrbollin@ncsu.edu

Anna Rita Bonaduce-Dresler, Italian Studies
Email: arbonadu@ncsu.edu

Helga G. Braunbeck, German Studies 
Email: helga_braunbeck@ncsu.edu

Nathaniel Kenneth Isaacson, Chinese Studies
Email: nkisaacs@ncsu.edu

Jodi Khater, Arabic Language and Culture
Email: jskhater@ncsu.edu

Gary Mathews, Classical Studies
Email: gary_m@ncsu.edu

John P Mertz, Asian Language and Japanese
Email: john_mertz@ncsu.edu

Sujata S. Mody, Hindi-Urdu
Email: ssmody@ncsu.edu

Maryam Mohaghegh, Persian
Email: mmohagh@ncsu.edu

Irwin Stern, Portuguese
Email: istern@ncsu.edu

Valerie A. Wust, French 
Email: vawust@ncsu.edu